Andrew McCutchen named winner of the 2015 Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet

NEW YORK - Andrew McCutchen of the Pittsburgh Pirates was named the winner of the 2015 Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet. McCutchen's selection was officially announced by Commissioner of Baseball Robert D. Manfred, Jr. at a press conference prior to Game Three of the World Series at Citi Field. McCutchen is the second member of the Pirates to win the Award, and the first since Willie Stargell won in 1974.

Commissioner Manfred said: "Andrew McCutchen has distinguished himself as one of the greatest players in his franchise's long history, and he now stands alongside perhaps the most legendary Pirate of all, Roberto Clemente, for his charitable work away from the diamond. Andrew is an outstanding ambassador for our game, particularly for his ability to connect with our young fans, and he is most deserving of the sport's highest recognition, the Roberto Clemente Award. On behalf of Major League Baseball and all of our Clubs, I congratulate Andrew and look forward to his continued leadership in our game for many years to come."

The Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet recognizes a Major League Baseball player who best represents the game of baseball through positive contributions on and off the field, including sportsmanship and community involvement. The annual Award pays tribute to Roberto Clemente's achievements and character by recognizing current players who truly understand the value of helping others. It is named for the Hall of Famer and 15-time All-Star who died in a plane crash on New Year's Eve 1972 while attempting to deliver supplies to earthquake victims in Nicaragua.

Vera Clemente, MLB Goodwill Ambassador and Wife of Roberto Clemente, said: "The Roberto Clemente Award represents what Roberto stood for - excellence both on and off the field. It is inspiring to read about all 30 nominees and the positive contributions they make in their communities. Our family is especially proud of this year's winner, Andrew McCutchen. Roberto played his entire career in the outfield for the Pittsburgh Pirates, as has Andrew, and I know Roberto would have been very proud of the many lives that Andrew has touched in Pittsburgh and in his hometown in Florida. We are proud to add Andrew to the family of Award winners."

Steve Haener, Senior Manager, Chevrolet Experiential Marketing & Partnerships, said: "Chevrolet has contributed more than $2.2 million dollars over the past eight years to charitable organizations across the country through our partnership with MLB and the Clemente family in presenting the Roberto Clemente Award. This year, we are pleased to once again make a monetary contribution and donate a new Chevrolet to Andrew's charity of choice."

McCutchen was selected from a list of 30 Club nominees by a panel of dignitaries that included Commissioner Manfred; Vera Clemente; Hall of Fame Broadcaster and the "Spanish Voice of the Los Angeles Dodgers" Jaime Jarrin; Hall of Famer and former Roberto Clemente Award winner Ozzie Smith; MLB Network analysts and former Roberto Clemente Award winners Al Leiter and Harold Reynolds (also of FOX Sports); ESPN analysts Jessica Mendoza and Chris Singleton; FOX Sports Broadcasters Joe Buck and Tom Verducci (also of MLB Network); TBS analysts Ron Darling and Hall of Famer Pedro Martinez (both also of MLB Network); correspondent Richard Justice and Vice President & Executive Editor Carlton Thompson; Assistant Experiential Marketing Manager with Chevrolet Ben Honingford; and others.

McCutchen join a distinguished list of national Roberto Clemente Award recipients, which includes 16 members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame:

1971 Willie Mays+**
1972 Brooks Robinson+**
1973 Al Kaline+
1974 Willie Stargell+
1975 Lou Brock+
1976 Pete Rose
1977 Rod Carew+
1978 Greg Luzinski
1979 Andre Thornton
1980 Phil Niekro+
1981 Steve Garvey
1982 Ken Singleton
1983 Cecil Cooper
1984 Ron Guidry
1985 Don Baylor
1986 Garry Maddox
1987 Rick Sutcliffe
1988 Dale Murphy
1989 Gary Carter+
1990 Dave Stewart
1991 Harold Reynolds
1992 Cal Ripken, Jr.+
1993 Barry Larkin+
1994 Dave Winfield+
1995 Ozzie Smith+
1996 Kirby Puckett+
1997 Eric Davis
1998 Sammy Sosa
1999 Tony Gwynn+
2000 Al Leiter
2001 Curt Schilling
2002 Jim Thome
2003 Jamie Moyer
2004 Edgar Martinez
2005 John Smoltz+
2006 Carlos Delgado
2007 Craig Biggio+
2008 Albert Pujols
2009 Derek Jeter
2010 Tim Wakefield
2011 David Ortiz
2012 Clayton Kershaw
2013 Carlos Beltran
2014 Paul Konerko *
2014 Jimmy Rollins *
2015 Andrew McCutchen

+ Member of The National Baseball Hall of Fame

* Co-winner

** Originally known as the Commissioner's Award (prior to 1973)