Cubs go with 11 pitchers on Division Series roster

Right-hander Hammel included; Berry left off

Cubs go with 11 pitchers on Division Series roster

ST. LOUIS -- The Cubs will carry 11 pitchers and 14 position players on their National League Division Series roster, which was revealed on Friday. The only change from the NL Wild Card Game roster is that pitcher Jason Hammel was added and outfielder Quintin Berry was removed.

The best-of-five series against the Cardinals begins tonight at 5:30 CT at Busch Stadium (TBS).

Game Date Results
Gm 1 Oct. 9 STL 4, CHC 0
Gm 2 Oct. 10 CHC 6, STL 3
Gm 3 Oct. 12 CHC 8, STL 6
Gm 4 Oct. 13 CHC 6, STL 4

Jon Lester will start Game 1 and be followed by Kyle Hendricks (8-7, 3.95 ERA) in Game 2 on Saturday and Jake Arrieta (22-6, 1.77 ERA) in Game 3 on Monday at Wrigley Field.

Hammel could start Game 4, which would be played at Wrigley Field on Tuesday if necessary. Manager Joe Maddon said that the right-hander, who went 10-7 with a 3.74 ERA this season, will be in the bullpen for the first two games of the series.

Besides Lester, Hendricks, Arrieta and Hammel, the Cubs pitchers on the roster include lefties Clayton Richard and Travis Wood and right-handers Pedro Strop, Justin Grimm, Trevor Cahill, Hector Rondon and Fernando Rodney.

The position players include David Ross, Miguel Montero, Chris Coghlan, Javier Baez, Tommy La Stella, Kyle Schwarber, Starlin Castro, Chris Denorfia, Kris Bryant, Addison Russell, Dexter Fowler, Austin Jackson, Anthony Rizzo and Jorge Soler. That list includes four rookies in Schwarber, Bryant, Russell and Soler.

Berry spent most of the season with the Boston's Triple-A Pawtucket team and signed a Minor League contract with the Cubs in August. He appeared in eight games with the Cubs and was projected to be a potential speedster off the bench. He was 26-for-27 in stolen-base attempts; the one caught stealing was with the Cubs on Sept. 20 against the Cardinals.

Here is a look at the roster:

Jake Arrieta
Trevor Cahill
Justin Grimm
Jason Hammel
Kyle Hendricks
Jon Lester
Clayton Richard
Fernando Rodney
Hector Rondon
Pedro Strop
Travis Wood

Miguel Montero
David Ross

Javier Baez
Kris Bryant
Starlin Castro
Tommy La Stella
Anthony Rizzo
Addison Russell

Chris Coghlan
Chris Denorfia
Dexter Fowler
Austin Jackson
Kyle Schwarber
Jorge Soler

Carrie Muskat is a reporter for She writes a blog, Muskat Ramblings. You can follow her on Twitter @CarrieMuskat and listen to her podcast. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.