Adrian Gonzalez Named Dodgers' Finalist for the 2015 Hank Aaron Award

LOS ANGELES - Major League Baseball and MLB Advanced Media today named Adrian Gonzalez as the Dodgers' finalist for the 2015 Hank Aaron Award. Fans can vote for the winner exclusively online at and the 30 Club sites. For the sixth straight year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron will join fans in voting for the award, which is officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball and has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999.

This marks the second consecutive season that Gonzalez was selected as Los Angeles' Hank Aaron Award finalist. The National League All-Star batted .275 in 156 games, while leading the Dodgers and ranking among the NL leaders in doubles (33, T-13th), home runs (28, T-8th) and RBI (90, 10th). 

Combined, the nominees have been named All-Stars 90 times, including 16 2015 All-Stars. The group also features 20 players under the age of 30, with five (Arenado, Correa, Harper, Herrera and Trout) under the age of 25.

The finalists for the 2015 Hank Aaron Award are:

American League

National League

Baltimore Orioles

Chris Davis

Arizona Diamondbacks

Paul Goldschmidt

Boston Red Sox

David Ortiz

Atlanta Braves

Freddie Freeman

Chicago White Sox

Jose Abreu

Chicago Cubs

Anthony Rizzo

Cleveland Indians

Michael Brantley

Cincinnati Reds

Joey Votto

Detroit Tigers

Miguel Cabrera

Colorado Rockies

Nolan Arenado

Houston Astros

Carlos Correa

Los Angeles Dodgers

Adrian Gonzalez

Kansas City Royals

Lorenzo Cain

Miami Marlins

Dee Gordon

LA Angels of Anaheim

Mike Trout

Milwaukee Brewers

Ryan Braun

Minnesota Twins

Brian Dozier

New York Mets

Curtis Granderson

New York Yankees

Brian McCann

Philadelphia Phillies

Odubel Herrera

Oakland Athletics

Josh Reddick

Pittsburgh Pirates

Andrew McCutchen

Seattle Mariners

Nelson Cruz

St. Louis Cardinals

Matt Carpenter

Tampa Bay Rays

Logan Forsythe

San Diego Padres

Matt Kemp

Texas Rangers

Prince Fielder

San Francisco Giants

Buster Posey

Toronto Blue Jays

Josh Donaldson

Washington Nationals

Bryce Harper

The Hall of Fame panel led by Aaron includes some of the greatest offensive players of all-time -Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Eddie Murray, Frank Thomas, Robin Yount as well as 2015 Hall of Fame inductee Craig Biggio. These Hall of Famers - who combined for 16,697 hits, 8,712 RBI and 2,166 home runs - have all been personally selected by Aaron to lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League.

Continuing through October 11, fans will have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club. The winners of the 2015 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 2015 World Series.

"The nominees for the 2015 Hank Aaron Awards provide great insight into the considerable young talent in our game today," Baseball Commissioner Robert D. Manfred, Jr. said. "Hank Aaron was a tremendous all-around offensive performer, and I believe that the diverse skills and competitive spirits demonstrated by these 30 players throughout the 2015 season have honored the Hall of Famer's enduring legacy." 

 "It is truly a joy and an honor that the award recognizing the top offensive performers in the game has my name on it," said Hank Aaron. "I am grateful to have some of my fellow Hall of Famers and the fans to assist in selecting the winners from this talented group of nominees." 

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Giancarlo Stanton and Mike Trout (2014); Miguel Cabrera and Paul Goldschmidt (2013); Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012); Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011); Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).
The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years.