Matt Duffy named 2015 Willie Mac Award winner

San Francisco -- Giants infielder Matt Duffy was selected as the winner of the 2015 "Willie Mac" Award, the club announced today.

The Willie McCovey Award is an annual honor bestowed upon the most inspirational player on the team, as voted upon by Giants players, coaches, training staff and the fans. This season marks the 35th anniversary of the award, which was established in 1980, in honor of legend and Hall of Famer Willie McCovey. Duffy will receive a plaque prior to tonight's game. Engraved on the plaque are the words "Competitive Spirit, Ability and Leadership" to characterize the qualities both McCovey and Duffy exemplify.

In his first full Major League season, Duffy has been one of the top rookies in the Majors, hitting .298 with 12 home runs, 76 RBI and 12 stolen bases in 146 games. He made the team out of spring training as a utility infielder and by May began getting regular starts at third base, a position he had played just three games at in three seasons in the minor leagues. Anchored in the three-spot in the Giants' lineup, he enters today's games leading all NL rookies in hits (167) and multi-hit games (42) and second in batting average (.298), second in RBI (76) and runs scored (77). Since the All-Star break he's ranked first in the National League in hits. He also enters today's games with the third-longest active games played streak and has started the Giants' last 76 games at third base. He's the first Giants rookie to win this prestigious award.

Listed below are the "Willie Mac Award" winners:

1980            Jack Clark

1981            Larry Herndon

1982            Joe Morgan

1983            Darrell Evans

1984            Bob Brenly

1985            Mike Krukow

1986            Mike Krukow

1987            Chris Speier

1988            Jose Uribe

1989            Dave Dravecky

1990            Steve Bedrosian

1991            Robby Thompson

1992            Mike Felder

1993            Kirt Manwaring

1994            None

1995            Mark Leiter

    Mark Carreon

1996            Shawon Dunston

1997            J.T. Snow

1998            Jeff Kent

1999            Marvin Benard

2000            Ellis Burks

2001            Mark Gardner

    Benito Santiago

2002            David Bell

2003            Marquis Grissom

2004            J.T. Snow

2005            Mike Matheny

2006            Omar Vizquel

2007            Bengie Molina

2008            Bengie Molina

2009            Matt Cain

2010            Andres Torres

2011            Ryan Vogelsong

2012            Buster Posey

2013            Hunter Pence

2014            Madison Bumgarner

2015            Matt Duffy