Mancini named O's top Minor League player

Drake, Givens are co-recipients of Minor League Pitcher of the Year Award

Mancini named O's top Minor League player

BALTIMORE -- Infielder Trey Mancini was named the Brooks Robinson Minor League Player of the Year and right-handed pitchers Oliver Drake and Mychal Givens were co-recipients of the Jim Palmer Minor League Pitcher of the Year Award, the Orioles announced on Thursday. The winners will be honored in an on-field ceremony prior to Friday's game against the Yankees, with awards presented by Orioles director of Minor League operations Kent Qualls and director of scouting Gary Rajsich.

Mancini is the O's 12th-ranked prospect according to Givens is No. 6.

Mancini hit a combined .341/.375/.563 with 43 doubles, six triples, 21 home runs and 89 RBIs in 136 games between Double-A Bowie and Class A Advanced Frederick. The Orioles' eighth-round pick in the 2013 Draft out of the University of Notre Dame, Mancini led all Orioles Minor Leaguers in batting average, home runs and RBIs, and he won the Eastern League batting title with an adjusted .330 batting average. Mancini didn't have enough plate appearances to qualify, but after adding on hitless at-bats to meet the minimum, he still led the league and therefore won the title.

Drake went 1-2 with a 0.82 ERA and was a perfect 23-for-23 in save opportunities with Triple-A Norfolk. He ranked second in saves and tied for fourth in games finished (34) among International League pitchers. Drake led all Orioles Minor Leaguers in saves and logged a 26-game scoreless streak from April 27-Aug. 6 with the Tides.

Givens went 4-2 with a 1.73 ERA and 15 saves in 35 games with Bowie this season. He was named to Baseball America's Minor League All-Prospect Mid-Season Team, Minor League First Team and was rated by the publication as the Best Reliever in the Eastern League. He made his Major League debut on June 24 and has been a bright spot for the Orioles.

Givens gets out of big jam

Additionally, outfielder Glynn Davis was named the recipient of the Elrod Hendricks Minor League Community Service Award. Signed by the Orioles as a non-drafted free agent in 2010, Davis made numerous appearances throughout the community, including medical centers, youth baseball camps and hitting and fielding clinics as part of his outreach efforts.

Norfolk manager Ron Johnson will be honored with the Cal Ripken Sr. Player Development Award, presented to a Minor League staff member who exemplifies the qualities of the late Oriole who is regarded as the architect of "The Oriole Way." Johnson earned the award due to his success in player development, including being named International League Manager of the Year, guiding the Tides to their first division title since 2005 and becoming the winningest manager in Tides history following his 285th career victory on Aug. 14.

International scout Ernst Meyer and area scout Rich Morales will receive Jim Russo Scout of the Year Awards, named in honor of the man who spent 33 years in various scouting capacities with the Orioles beginning with their move from St. Louis in 1954.

The Orioles will also recognize the 2015 Eastern League Champion Bowie Baysox, who were managed by Gary Kendall. The Baysox won the first Eastern League title in franchise history after defeating the Reading Fightin Phils, 3-2, in the best-of-five Eastern League Championship Series.

Additionally, Delmarva athletic trainer Trek Schuler, Bowie Baysox head groundskeeper Matt Parrott and Frederick Keys head groundskeeper Mike Soper will be honored for winning the 2015 South Atlantic League Trainer of the Year Award, Eastern League Diamond Pro Sports Field Manager of the Year Award and Carolina League Diamond Pro Sports Field Manager of the Year Award, respectively.

Brittany Ghiroli is a reporter for Read her blog, Britt's Bird Watch, follow her on Facebook and Twitter @britt_ghiroli, and listen to her podcast. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.