Crawford heads All-Star Game umpires

Crawford heads All-Star umps

Jerry Crawford, one of the most experienced umpires in the Major Leagues, has been selected to work behind home plate in the 77th All-Star Game next month at PNC Park in Pittsburgh.

Crawford, a crew chief in his 30th MLB season, heads a group of six umpires named by Major League Baseball on Wednesday to officiate the Midsummer Classic on July 11. The Philadelphia native will be joined by Randy Marsh (first base), Fieldin Culbreth (second base), Jeff Nelson (third base), Mike Everitt (left field) and Alfonso Marquez (right field).

Crawford, who also worked the 1989 All-Star Game, has been assigned to four Division Series, 11 League Championships (most by any umpire), and five World Series during an MLB career that started in 1973.

His father, Henry, was a National League umpire from 1956-75, and his brother, Joe, is a referee in the National Basketball Association.

Marquez, Marsh and Nelson are scheduled to be among the 15 active MLB umpires who will serve as instructors at the inaugural Major League Baseball Umpire Camps in November.

The Minor League umpires who will work the XM Satellite Radio All-Star Futures Game on July 9 at PNC Park also were announced on Wednesday. Christopher Conroy of the Eastern League will work home plate, Jeffrey Latter (Southern League) will be at first base, Jason Stein (Texas League) at second base and Ria Cortesio (Southern League) at third base.

The official scorers for the All-Star Game will be Bob Hertzel, a longtime scorer of the Pittsburgh Pirates and current sports editor of the Morgantown Dominion-Post; Baltimore Sun columnist Peter Schmuck, president of the Baseball Writers' Association of America, and Beaver County Times writer John Perrotto, chairman of the Pittsburgh chapter of the BBWAA.

The fifth All-Star Game played in Pittsburgh will be televised by FOX Sports and around the world by MLB International, while ESPN Radio will provide exclusive national radio coverage, will provide extensive online coverage and MLB Radio will provide play-by-play coverage.

The All-Star Game rosters will be released at 7 p.m. ET on Sunday, July 2. The announcement will reveal the 16 elected starters, as determined by fan balloting, and 45 pitchers and reserves, as determined by the player ballot, the two All-Star team managers -- Ozzie Guillen of the White Sox and Phil Garner of the Astros -- and Major League Baseball.

Fans once again will have the opportunity to select the final position player for each league's 32-man roster at The Final Vote will provide fans the opportunity to cast their votes from a list of five players from each league over a three-day period. Fans added Roy Oswalt (NL) and Scott Podsednik (AL) to the rosters with the Final Vote last summer.

For the fourth consecutive year, the league that wins the All-Star Game will receive home-field advantage during the World Series. The AL has won back-to-back-to-back Midsummer Classics since that provision was added prior to the 2003 World Series, and eight straight overall.

Jim Street is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.