XM Satellite Radio All-Star Futures Game rosters announced

Futures Game rosters announced

All-Star Futures Game roster

Rosters for the eighth annual XM Satellite Radio All-Star Futures Game were announced today by Major League Baseball, Minor League Baseball and Baseball America.

The XM Satellite Radio All-Star Futures Game will feature the top U.S. and international Minor League prospects competing against each other as part of Taco Bell® All-Star Sunday, July 9 at PNC Park in Pittsburgh. The game will begin at 4:00 p.m. (EDT) and will be televised live on ESPN2.

Taco Bell® All-Star Sunday is the first of three days of All-Star events at PNC Park in Pittsburgh, culminating with the 77th All-Star Game on Tuesday, July 11. For the fourth consecutive year, the outcome of this year's All-Star Game will have implications on the postseason, as the League that wins the 77th All-Star Game will receive home-field advantage in the 2006 World Series.

Major League Baseball, in conjunction with the 30 Major League Clubs and Baseball America, selected the 25-man rosters for each team, the U.S. Team and the World Team. Each Major League organization is represented and the World Team features players from 11 different countries and territories. Players from all full-season Minor Leagues were eligible to participate.

The XM Satellite Radio All-Star Futures Game will end after seven innings, regardless of the score. Players and coaches will be outfitted in special XM Satellite Radio All-Star Futures Game jerseys and will wear the caps of their Major League organization with an XM Satellite Radio All-Star Futures Game logo embroidered on the side. Four Minor League umpires will work the game: Christopher Conroy (home plate) of the Eastern League, Jeffrey Latter (first base) of the Southern League, Jason Stein (second base) of the Texas League and Ria Cortesio (third base) of the Southern League. This is the second year that XM Satellite Radio, the official satellite radio network of Major League Baseball, has sponsored the game.

Hall of Famers Gary Carter and Ferguson Jenkins will manage the U.S Team and World Team, respectively. Carter was an 11-time N.L. All-Star for the Montreal Expos and New York Mets, and Jenkins was a three-time N.L. All-Star and Cy Young Award winner for the Chicago Cubs. Coaches for the U.S. and World Team are as follows:

U.S. Team
Tim Bogar Manager, Akron AerosCleveland IndiansEastern League/AA
Stan CliburnManager, Rochester Red WingsMinnesota TwinsInternational League/AAA
Stu Cole Manager, Tulsa DrillersColorado RockiesTexas League/AA
Jackie MooreManager, Round Rock ExpressHouston AstrosPacific Coast League/AAA
Jayhawk OwensManager, ChattanoogaCincinnati RedsSouthern League/AA
Stan KylesPitching Coach, Nashville Sounds Milwaukee BrewersPacific Coast League/AAA
World Team
Dave ClarkManager, Corpus Christi HooksHouston AstrosTexas League/AA
Todd ClausManager, Portland Sea DogsBoston Red SoxEastern League/AA
Chip HaleManager, Tucson SidewindersArizona DiamondbacksPacific Coast League/AAA
Razor ShinesManager, Charlotte KnightsChicago White SoxInternational League/AAA
John ShoemakerManager, Jacksonville SunsLos Angeles DodgersSouthern League/AA
Juan NievesPitching Coach, Charlotte KnightsChicago White SoxInternational League/AAA

Twenty players have competed in both the XM Satellite Radio All-Star Futures Game and the Major League Baseball All-Star Game. These players are:

PlayerCurrent Team/PositionAll-Star GameFutures Game
Lance BerkmanAstros OF2001-02, 20041999
Hank BlalockRangers INF2003-042001
Mark BuehrleWhite Sox P2002, 20052000
Miguel CabreraMarlins OF20042001-02
Francisco CorderoRangers P20041999
Carl CrawfordDevil Rays OF20042002
Adam DunnReds OF20022001
Rafael FurcalDodgers INF20031999
Marcus GilesBraves INF20032000
Felipe LopezReds INF2005 2000-01
Victor MartinezIndians C20042002
Mark MulderCardinals P2003-041999
Aramis RamirezCubs INF20051999
Francisco RodriguezAngels P20042002
B.J. RyanBlue Jays P 20051999
C.C. SabathiaIndians P2003-042000
Ben SheetsBrewers P2001, 20042000
Alfonso SorianoRangers OF2002-05 1999
Vernon WellsBlue Jays OF20031999-2000
Barry ZitoAthletics P2002-032000

There are currently 137 players from the first seven XM Satellite Radio All-Star Futures Games in the Major Leagues.