Fans select finalists for 2015 Man of the Year

Fans have selected Miguel Cabrera, Robinson Cano, Dee Gordon, Adam Jones, David Robertson, Skip Schumaker and Justin Turner as the finalists for the 2015 Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award, which goes to the player whose performance on and off the field is most inspirational.

Online voting to determine the finalists for each division resulted in a tie between Cabrera and Robertson in the AL Central when balloting concluded at midnight Sunday, so both players' names will appear on the 2015 Players Choice Awards ballots that will be distributed to all players at clubhouses around the Major Leagues on Wednesday.

In addition to the Marvin Miller Man of the Year, players will select an overall Player of the Year, as well as the outstanding players, pitchers, rookies and comeback players in their respective leagues in player-only balloting conducted by the accounting firm KPMG.

Players will also vote for the first "Always Game" award winner, presented by Majestic. "Always Game" will be presented to a player who -- game in and game out -- constantly exhibits grit, tenacity, perseverance and hustle; all for the benefit of his teammates and fans. The finalists for the "Always Game" award -- one representing each division and compiled by Majestic Athletic after consulting with a panel of baseball experts -- are Jose Altuve (AL West), Kris Bryant (NL Central), Josh Donaldson (AL East), Alex Gordon (AL Central), Dee Gordon (NL East) and Zack Grienke (NL West).

In 2014 balloting, Clayton Kershaw became the first player to ever win three Players Choice Awards in a single year as he was recognized by his fellow players as the NL's Outstanding Pitcher and the overall Player of the Year as well as the Marvin Miller Man of the Year.

Past winners of the Marvin Miller Man of the Year, named for the legendary MLBPA union leader, also include Mariano Rivera, Chipper Jones, Michael Young, Brandon Inge, Curtis Granderson, Torii Hunter, Albert Pujols, Jim Thome, John Smoltz, Mike Sweeney, Mark McGwire, Sammy Sosa, Eric Davis and Paul Molitor.

The 2015 Players Choice Awards mark the 24th anniversary of the awards, which began in 1992 with AL and NL Outstanding Players (Dennis Eckersley and Barry Bonds, respectively).

The 2015 Players Choice Awards winners will receive grants totaling $335,000 from the Players Trust to distribute to charities of their choosing, including for the first time, $2,500 to all 30 Marvin Miller Award nominees. 

Since the first Players Choice Awards presentations in 1992, the Players Trust has contributed more than $4 million to charities around the world through grants to the award recipients.

Finalists for 2015 Marvin Miller Man of the Year:

AL East

Adam Jones: In 2015, the center fielder hosted a clinic with the MLBPA for inner-city youth in West Baltimore following the unrest the city experienced this past spring. Jones provided hands-on instruction and encouragement to kids from James Mosher Little League. He has also participated in events to benefit the YMCA of Central Maryland, the Boys and Girls Club of Baltimore and Reviving Baseball in the Inner Cities.

AL Central

Miguel Cabrera (tie): The Miguel Cabrera Foundation was founded on Cabrera's belief that we can achieve great things when we work had, dream big and help others. His foundation focuses on two areas: revitalizing baseball fields in schools and neighborhoods where athletics can be used as a catalyst for student engagement and achievement and providing academic scholarships for students seeking a college education. 

David Robertson (tie): Robertson, along with his wife Erin, founded High Socks for Hope after tornadoes devastated his hometown of Tuscaloosa, Alabama, in 2011. The mission is to lend support to charities and organizations helping those affected by tragedies and to provide humanitarian services for individuals in need. High Socks for Hope has also provided aid to those affected by the tornado in Moore, Oklahoma, as well as individuals in New York who were affected by Hurricane Sandy.

AL West

Robinson Cano: Cano founded the RC22 Foundation to impact the lives of underserved children and communities both locally and globally. The foundation has established and engaged in various initiatives that expand opportunities for improved outcomes in the areas of youth development and community healthcare including education, athletic programs, medical care, community good will and holiday programs. The RC22 Foundation has expanded its philanthropic footprint in Seattle through programs and partnerships focusing on education, health, fitness and wellness.

NL East

Dee Gordon: While with the Dodgers, Gordon assisted with the LA Fund for Public Education's School Fuel program to provide breakfast for more than 400,000 students in the Los Angeles Unified School District. In the offseason, Gordon participated in a Fitbit Celebrity Challenge to raise awareness and money for cardiovascular health. He also supports the Belchman Foundation to raise money and awareness for Parkinson's Disease.

NL Central

Skip Schumaker: Schumaker hosted the first-ever Reds Fantasy Football Challenge. The event benefitted Big League Impact, Jessie Rees Foundation, Reds Community Fund and Cincinnati Children's Hospital. What was supposed to be a one-time event has now turned into an annual event, drawing overwhelming support, and has included players on other teams to join the cause as well.

NL West

Justin Turner: A regular participant of his teammate's event, Clayton Kershaw's Ping Pong 4 a Purpose, Turner is always eager to give back to his local community. This past August, he joined the Los Angeles Dream Center for their annual Back to School Bash in distributing 2,000 backpacks, each filled with supplies including pencils, paper, and notebooks to families from the Echo Park, Rampart District, Skid Row, Lincoln Heights, South Central and Watts neighborhoods.