MLB Announces 2016 Regular Season Schedule

ESPN's "Sunday Night Baseball" to Begin the Season on Sunday, April 3rd; Thirteen Games Scheduled for Traditional Opening Day on Monday, April 4th; Wednesday, April 6th Features First Full Slate of Games

Major League Baseball today announced its master 2016 regular season schedule, which will begin with ESPN's "Sunday Night Baseball" on April 3rd. Details of the Opening Night contest are forthcoming. Thirteen games are currently set for Opening Day on Monday, April 4th, while the first full slate of 15 contests is scheduled for Wednesday, April 6th.

The 13 games comprising Opening Day include six divisional match-ups and an Interleague contest between the host Kansas City Royals and the New York Mets. Eight games are scheduled for Tuesday, April 5th before all 30 teams take the field on Wednesday.

The San Diego Padres will visit the Toronto Blue Jays for the first time in history from July 25th-27th, marking the final location-specific Interleague matchup to take place since the implementation of Interleague Play in 1997.

The final day of the 2016 regular season, featuring 12 divisional games, is scheduled for Sunday, October 2nd. Other important dates next season include Jackie Robinson Day on Friday, April 15th; the first day of the 2016 MLB Draft on Thursday, June 9th; and Baseball's All-Star festivities at Petco Park in San Diego from Sunday, July 10th through Tuesday, July 12th, culminating with the 87th Midsummer Classic.

Please see the accompanying file or visit for the complete 2016 American League and National League regular season schedules.