D-backs award Diaz & Shipley with monthly honors for August

PHOENIX -The Arizona Diamondbacks (@Dbacks) named Rookie Advanced Missoula infielder Isan Diaz (@diazisan) and Double-A Mobile right-handed pitcher Braden Shipley (@Shipley25) the organization's Minor League Player- and Pitcher-of-the-Month for August.

Diaz, 19, reached base safely in 23 of his 26 games in August, hitting .356 (37-for-104) with 12 doubles, 1 triple, 7 home runs, 22 RBI, 25 runs scored, a .424 OBP, .692 slugging percentage and a 1.116 OPS.

  • Reached base safely in a 15 straight games from August 6-21, batting .327 (20-for-61) with 7 doubles, 3 homers and 13 RBI.
  • Hit for the cycle on August 23 -@ Billings.
  • Ranked among all Rookie League players in August in extra-base hits (1st, 20), total bases (2nd, 72), slugging percentage (2nd), home runs (T-2nd), OPS (3rd), doubles (4th), RBI (T-5th) and hits (7th).
  • Named the D-backs' Minor League Player-of-the-Month for July, the third player in club history to win the organization's top offensive award in consecutive months (also Chris Owings in 2013 and Josh Whitesell in 2008).
  • Named to the Pioneer League midseason All-Star Team.
  • Drafted by the D-backs in the Competitive Balance-Round B (70th overall) in the 2014 First-Year Player Draft from Springfield (Mass.) High School.

Shipley, 23, went 1-2 with a 1.15 ERA (5 ER in 39.0 IP), 35 strikeouts, 9 walks and a .176 opponent average (24-for-136) in 5 starts (4 quality) in August.

  • Ranked among all Double-A pitchers in August (min. 5 GS) in opponent average (T-2nd), WHIP (4th, 0.85), ERA (6th), innings (T-6th) and strikeouts (12th).
  • Matched his season-high 9 strikeouts on August 12 vs. Mississippi.
  • Drafted by the D-backs in the first round (15th overall) in the 2013 draft from University of Nevada-Reno.

Every month during the season, the D-backs Player Development staff chooses the player and pitcher most deserving of the honors based on nominations from coaches at each affiliate along with input from the Minor League coordinators. Below is a list of the overall winners as well as players nominated by each affiliate:







Isan Diaz

Peter O'Brien

Socrates Brito

Jamie Westbrook


Braden Shipley

Aaron Blair

Braden Shipley

Anthony Banda









Colin Bray

Trevor Mitsui

Isan Diaz

Alvaro Rondon

Juan Araujo


Ryan Burr

Brody Greer

Cameron Smith

Luis Madero

Franklyn Soriano