Miggy's homer taken away after review

Slugger awarded ground-rule double after fan interference

Miggy's homer taken away after review

CHICAGO -- Miguel Cabrera thought he had his 17th home run of the season, but he had to settle for a ground-rule double instead after a fan interfered with the ball in the Tigers' 10-8 win against the Cubs on Tuesday night.

With one out in the first inning, Ian Kinsler hit a home run into the left-field basket. On the very next pitch, Cabrera crushed a ball to left field that was snagged by a fan who reached over the top of the netting on the outfield walls in Wrigley Field with a glove.

The play was originally ruled a homer, but left fielder Kyle Schwarber immediately signaled to the dugout for the play to be reviewed. Center fielder Dexter Fowler also signaled.

Tigers' near three straight HRs

"I was going basically off Schwarber's reaction and Dex," Cubs manager Joe Maddon said. "They were both adamant that had happened. I was primarily going off the reaction of Schwarb and Dex there."

Following a crew-chief review, the call was overturned and Cabrera was awarded a ground-rule double.

"I did [think it was a home run]," Tigers manager Brad Ausmus said. "I didn't even realize fans could reach that far over the basket. But once you saw the replay, it was clear they made the right call."

Cabrera wasn't on second base long, as J.D. Martinez blasted a two-run shot to center field two pitches later to give the Tigers a 3-0 lead.

Carrie Muskat is a reporter for MLB.com. She writes a blog, Muskat Ramblings. You can follow her on Twitter @CarrieMuskat and listen to her podcast. Greg Garno is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.