Vote now to help decide All-Star Game MVP

Vote now to help decide All-Star Game MVP

CINCINNATI -- This has been a year of All-Star voting like no other. You obliterated records with 620 million votes in the Esurance MLB All-Star Game Ballot, which decided starters exclusively online for the first time.

Then came the Esurance All-Star Game Final Vote, resulting in another 111.8 million votes and the addition of Royals third baseman Mike Moustakas and Cardinals pitcher Carlos Martinez for the 34th and final roster spots.

Ready for a little more fun? For your next balloting pleasure, here comes the 86th All-Star Game presented by T-Mobile at Great American Ball Park, which is under way. Watch the telecast on FOX or the live stream on MLB.TV, and from now until the end of the game, help decide the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player presented by Chevrolet.

Balloting is happening exclusively on via the 2015 All-Star Game MVP Vote presented by Chevrolet. All-Stars are a level above Major Leaguers, and All-Star MVPs are a level above All-Stars. You can be involved in the distribution of some pretty prestigious hardware, so here are some fun facts before you start clicking:

Mike Trout of the Angels won it last year in Minnesota, and he could become the first to win in consecutive years. Only five players have won it twice: Willie Mays (1963, '68), Steve Garvey (1974, '78), Gary Carter (1981, '84) and Cal Ripken Jr. (1991, 2001).

Current clubs that never have had an All-Star MVP Award winner include the Astros, Blue Jays, Cardinals, D-backs, Rockies, Tigers and White Sox. There are some surprising names on that list, and it wouldn't be a surprise if someone like Arizona first baseman Paul Goldschmidt or Toronto third baseman Josh Donaldson broke the ice.

The most recent time a player was MVP in his home park was Pedro Martinez, who struck out five of the first six National League batters while representing Boston in 1999 at Fenway Park. Could Reds third baseman, Home Run Derby champ and National League starter Todd Frazier be the next?

Baltimore has had the most All-Star MVPs with six: Brooks Robinson ('66), Frank Robinson ('71), Ripken ('91 and 2001), Roberto Alomar (1998) and Miguel Tejada (2005). Could starting American League left fielder Adam Jones give them a seventh on the 10th anniversary of their most recent one? The Dodgers, Giants and Reds are tied for second with five each, followed by the Angels and Red Sox with four.

This is the 40th anniversary of the most recent All-Star MVP Award winners for both the Cubs (Bill Madlock) and Mets (Jon Matlack), who were co-MVPs at the 1975 game in Milwaukee. They are due. Anthony Rizzo or Kris Bryant, perhaps?

It was originally called the "Arch Ward Memorial Award" in honor of the man who conceived the All-Star Game in 1933. The award's name was changed to the "Commissioner's Trophy" in '70, but that name began being used in '85 instead for the presentation of the World Series hardware. In 2002, the All-Star MVP was renamed as the Arch Ward Trophy for the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player, in honor of the former Red Sox great Williams, who had died earlier that year -- so Ward's name is still involved with the honor.

All-Star MVPs were first honored in 1962, the fourth and final year in which there were two All-Star games per season. Both were Los Angeles players that year -- Maury Wills for the Dodgers and Leon Wagner for the new Angels franchise. Fans had no say in that selection, but you do now.

The voting will continue until the MVP is announced immediately following the end of the game. The online fan vote again will count for 20 percent, with the other 80 percent coming onsite from the Baseball Writers Association of America and the announcers from the All-Star Game's three broadcast rights holders: FOX Sports, ESPN Radio and MLB International.

These are the players who have won the award since the fan vote was factored in:

2003: Garret Anderson of the Angels
2004: Alfonso Soriano of the Rangers
2005: Miguel Tejada of the Orioles
2006: Michael Young of the Rangers
2007: Ichiro Suzuki of the Mariners
2008: J.D. Drew of the Red Sox
2009: Carl Crawford of the Rays
2010: Brian McCann of the Braves
2011: Prince Fielder of the Tigers
2012: Melky Cabrera of the Giants
2013: Mariano Rivera of the Yankees
2014: Trout of the Angels

"Chills, goosebumps, you name it," Trout said after that 2-for-3 night in which he notched a double, triple, two RBIs and a run scored, even beating out Derek Jeter for that coveted award in the Yankee captain's final Midsummer Classic. "Everything was running through my body."

MLB.TV Premium subscribers will be able to live stream the All-Star Game via MLB.TV through FOX's participating video providers. Access will be available across more than 400 supported MLB.TV platforms, including the award-winning At Bat app.

The 86th Midsummer Classic will be televised nationally by FOX Sports (coverage begins 7 p.m. ET), in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 160 countries. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide exclusive national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit

Mark Newman is enterprise editor of Read and join other baseball fans on his community blog. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.