Cubs surprised by interference call in 10th

Ross, Maddon disagree with umpire's ruling that resulted in double play

Cubs surprised by interference call in 10th

MILWAUKEE -- David Ross was surprised that he was called for interference on a hard slide into second base that resulted in an inning-ending double play in the 10th inning of the Cubs' 3-2 loss to the Brewers on Sunday.

With the score tied at 2, Ross singled to open the 10th. After Addison Russell struck out, Dexter Fowler grounded to third baseman Elian Herrera, who attempted to start the double play.

Ross was forced at second, but Fowler beat the relay by second baseman Scooter Gennett and appeared safe on a fielder's choice. However, second-base umpire Bruce Dreckman ruled that Ross had interfered, resulting in the double play to end the inning.

"I was very surprised," said Ross, who entered the game in the eighth inning. "Did it look dirty? No, I don't know what you saw. I talked to him a little bit and I was definitely surprised."

The veteran catcher, in his 13th season, said he asked Dreckman about the call.

"He said that I obstructed on purpose and threw an elbow," Ross said.

Brewers manager Craig Counsell said he experienced those kinds of plays both as a fielder and baserunner.

"It's a judgement call on how the slide is and where the slide happens," said Counsell, a middle infielder for most of his 15-year playing career. "I think he didn't slide past the bag, I believe is what they are thinking. I've seen it called. I've had it called on me before as a baserunner. He's going in hard to try to break up the double play, but there are limitations as to what you can do. And there should be."

Cubs manager Joe Maddon said he disagreed with the ruling by Dreckman.

"[He said] that [Ross] intentionally hit him with his elbow," Maddon said. "I said, 'You mean just like the runner intentionally hits a second baseman, shortstop with his leg as he's trying to take him out on a double play?' There's no difference. I can understand if you try to grab somebody and pull them down, that's a different story. But I fail to see the interpretation of that play."

Ross said he didn't do anything out of the ordinary, and that it was simply a hard slide to break up the double play.

"If anybody thinks I was trying to injure anybody or play dirty, I definitely would never try to do that," Ross said. "But I'm going to play the way I know how to play, and go in hard at second and try to break up double plays. That's the way I was taught to play the game. I respect the game, I respect their team, I respect the umpires, but I definitely was surprised."

Jim Hoehn is a contributor to MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.