Rickey races out in front in A's Franchise Four voting

Rickey races out in front in A's Franchise Four voting

Rickey Henderson is the early leader in A's voting for the Franchise Four campaign, which allows fans to elect the four most impactful players who best represent the history of each Major League franchise out of eight choices from its lineage.

Dennis Eckersley is second in voting for the A's, followed by Jimmie Foxx and Reggie Jackson. Other candidates include: Rollie Fingers, Lefty Grove, Catfish Hunter and Al Simmons. An additional write-in option is available to fans on the ballot.

The A's are among seven franchises -- joining the Orioles, Cubs, Dodgers, Yankees, Pirates and Cardinals -- who have four Hall of Famers as their respective Franchise Four leaders.

Each club's eight nominees were selected based on the recommendations of a blue-ribbon panel, in consultation with the 30 Major League clubs. The panelists included John Thorn, MLB's official historian, and representatives from MLB's official statistician, the Elias Sports Bureau; MLB.com; MLB Network; and the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Fans have cast 11.8 million votes in the Franchise Four voting, and you can cast your ballot here. Voting ends on May 8, and winners from all 30 clubs will be announced at the 2015 All-Star Game, which will take place on July 14 at Great American Ball Park in Cincinnati.

Jane Lee is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.