D-backs dedicate Roland Hemond Field in Phoenix

PHOENIX - The Arizona Diamondbacks today dedicated Roland Hemond Field, the 35th "Diamonds Back" Field, presented by APS. The field is the first to be dedicated in 2015 and is located less than three miles from Chase Field. 


"We want to make an impact in this community and we understand our social responsibility," said D-backs President & CEO Derrick Hall. "It is particularly special when we can build our fields in Phoenix and in the shadow of Chase Field. In order for the D-backs and baseball to succeed we need more kids playing the game and what better way to honor a man that has given so much to baseball than to name this field after one of baseball's most well-known executives, Roland Hemond."


Hall was among several key D-backs and Phoenix officials on hand at the dedication ceremony, including Hemond, D-backs Chief Baseball Officer Tony La Russa, Arizona Public Service Chairman & CEO Don Brandt and Councilwoman Kate Gallego.


"We at APS share the D-backs' passion in giving back to the community and touching the lives of many Arizonans," said Don Brandt, APS Chairman, President and CEO. "The D-backs are a great example to other teams in Major League Baseball and other businesses in Arizona. The field building program is just one way that both APS and the D-backs share our commitment to the communities we serve."


Hemond was the second recipient of the National Baseball Hall of Fame Buck O'Neil Lifetime Achievement Award in 2012. He is currently in his eighth season with the D-backs and is a three-time winner of MLB's Executive of the Year award. He has 64 years of professional baseball experience, including 23 seasons as a general manager for the White Sox and Orioles. Hemond is considered the architect of the Arizona Fall League and is the only non-uniformed personnel to have received the esteemed Branch Rickey Award.


"He has spirit and loves the game and if you want to give Roland a tribute, having kids play on a field in his name is the best thing you can do," said La Russa.


"This is very touching for me and I look forward to this summer and seeing kids play on this field," said Hemond. "I hope everyone is enjoying the moment and I know better days are ahead starting this season."


Arizona Diamondbacks employees teamed up to clean up the neighborhood surrounding Roland Hemond Field by picking up trash, weeding and tree trimming in the month leading up to today's dedication.


Roland Hemond Field is located at Alkire Park, 1602 West Pima Street, Phoenix, Ariz. 85007


Since 2000, the Arizona Diamondbacks Foundation has built or refurbished 35 baseball fields representing a community investment of more than $10 million. With support from APS, and charitable contributions from D-backs players, the program has allowed children from across the state to play baseball and softball at quality facilities. The fields generally feature new lights, a branded electronic scoreboard, new fencing and backstops, new irrigation and new grass and dirt with additional support provided by local contractors and businesses.




2015 dedications

                Roland Hemond Field (Phoenix)

2014 dedications

                Brad Ziegler Field (Prescott)

2013 dedications

                Aaron Hill Field (Parker)

2012 dedications

                Justin Upton Field (Downtown Phoenix)

                Joe Garagiola, Sr. Field (Flagstaff)

2011 dedications

                Dan Haren Field (Scottsdale)

2009 dedications:

                Eric Byrnes Field (Phoenix)

2008 dedications:

                D-votion Field (Goodyear)

Doug Davis Field (Camp Verde)

2007 dedications:

                Brandon Webb Field (Phoenix)

                Chad Tracy Field (Phoenix)

                Rich Dozer Field (Phoenix)

                Partners Field (Phoenix)

2006 dedications:

Mark Grace Thunderbolt Field (Glendale)

Matt Williams Family Field (Show Low)

Craig Counsell Field (Buckeye)

2005 dedications:

Luis Gonzalez Field (Tempe)

Shawn Green Field (Peoria)

Troy Glaus Field (Casa Grande)

2004 dedications:

Danny Bautista Field (Phoenix)

Shea Hillenbrand Field (Chandler)

Elmer Dessens Field (Tucson)

2003 dedications:

Matt Mantei Field (Tempe)

Mark Grace Field (Flagstaff)

Miguel Batista Field (Sacaton)

Jerry Colangelo Field (South Phoenix)

2002 dedications:

Todd Stottlemyre Field (Guadalupe)

Armando Reynoso Field (Yuma)

Brian Anderson Field (Glendale)

Steve Finley Field (Phoenix)

Curt Schilling Field (Phoenix)

2001 dedications:

Randy Johnson Field (Phoenix)

O'Callaghan Field (Phoenix)

2000 dedications:

Jay Bell Field (Phoenix)

Matt Williams Field (Phoenix)