Matt Duffy voted 2015 Barney Nugent award winner

SCOTTSDALE, AZ - Infielder Matt Duffy was elected the 2015 Barney Nugent Award winner in a vote by his teammates, coaches and training staff earlier this morning.

The Barney Nugent Award, formerly known as the Harry K. Jordan Award, is named in honor of the Giants' former athletic trainer who worked for the Club from 1993 to 2003. This award is given in recognition of the player in his first big league camp whose performance and dedication in Spring Training best exemplifies the San Francisco Giants spirit, much like Nugent did in his time with San Francisco.

Duffy, 24, despite being on the Giants World Series roster last season was in his first big league camp this spring. He batted .388 (19-for-49) with two home runs and 12 RBI in 21 games for the Giants this spring. Last year he made the jump from double-A to the big leagues in just his third professional season after winning the Eastern League batting title, hitting .332 (122-for-367) with 53 runs scored, 24 doubles, three home runs and 62 RBI in 97 games for Richmond.

Duffy was selected by the Giants in the 18th round of the 2012 First-Year Player Draft. In three minor league seasons, he owns a career avg. of .304 (286-for-942) with 13 home runs. The six-foot two inch, 170-pound infielder hit .267 (16-for-60) with two doubles and eight RBI in 34 with the Giants last season.

Barney Nugent was a trainer for the San Francisco Giants from 1993 through 2003. Prior to his time as a Major League trainer, he spent 16 seasons working his way up through the minor leagues. Nugent earned a Master's Degree in Physical Education with an Athletic Training Specialization from Indiana State University. He passed away on February 22, 2014 after an arduous eight month battle with cancer and is survived by his wife of 33 years, Denise. Nugent is remembered as a good friend and was a Giant through the very end of his life.

The following players have won the Barney Nugent Award:

1988    Joe Kmak, Francisco Melendez
1989    James Steel 
1990    Eric Gunderson
1991    Mark Leonard
1992    John Patterson
1993    Greg Brummett
1994    J.R. Phillips
1995    Joe Rosselli
1996    Marvin Benard
1997    Dante Powell
1998    Russ Ortiz
1999    Damon Minor
2000    Ben Weber
2001    Pedro Feliz
2002    Felix Escalona
2003    Jason Ellison
2004    Brian Dallimore
2005    Scott Munter
2006    Derin McMains
2007    Tim Lincecum
2008    Brian Bocock
2009    Joe Martinez
2010    Darren Ford
2011    Brandon Belt
2012    Dan Otero
2013    Brock Bond
2014    Mark Minicozzi
2015    Matt Duffy