Yankees Name INF Rob Refsynder and RHP Luis Severino Winners of the 2014 Kevin Lawn Awards

The New York Yankees announced today that infielder Rob Refsnyder and right-handed pitcher Luis Severino were named winners of the 2014 Kevin Lawn Award as the Yankees' minor league "Player of the Year" and "Pitcher of the Year," respectively. The two players received their awards prior to today's Yankees vs. Orioles game at George M. Steinbrenner Field.

The annual awards are dedicated to Kevin O'Brien Lawn-the son of longtime Yankees Vice President and Chief of Operations Jack Lawn-who passed away in 1999. 

Refsnyder, 24, split the season with Double-A Trenton and Triple-A Scranton/Wilkes-Barre, combining to bat .318 (164-for-515) with 82R, 38 doubles, 6 triples, 14HR and 63RBI in 137 games. The 2012 fifth-round draft pick ranked third among all Yankees minor leaguers in batting average. Following the season, he was tabbed an Organization All-Star by MiLB.com and ranked as the Yankees' seventh-best prospect by Baseball America.

Severino, 21, combined to go 6-5 with a 2.46 ERA (113.1IP, 31ER) in 24 starts with Single-A Charleston, Single-A Tampa and Double-A Trenton. He allowed three earned runs or fewer in 23 of his 24 starts, posting a 1.96 ERA (110.0IP, 24ER) in those games. The right-hander led all Yankee minor leaguers in strikeouts (127) and competed for the World Team in the SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game. Following the season, he was named an Organization All-Star by MiLB.com and was tabbed the Yankees' best prospect by Baseball America.

Each player was presented with a trophy designed by C&C Awards, as well as a designer watch, courtesy of Betteridge Jewelers.


  Player of the Year Pitcher of the Year
2014  INF Rob Refsnyder (TRE/SWB) RHP Luis Severino (CHA/TAM/TRE)
2013  INF Greg Bird (CHA) RHP Shane Greene (TAM/TRE)
2012  OF Tyler Austin (GCL/CHA/TAM/TRE) RHP Mark Montgomery (TAM/TRE)
2011  C Austin Romine (TRE/SWB) RHP D. J. Mitchell (SWB)
2010  SS Eduardo Nunez (SWB) RHP David Phelps (TRE/SWB)
2009  C Austin Romine (TAM) RHP Zach McAllister (TRE)
2008  OF Brett Gardner (SWB) LHP Phil Coke (TRE/SWB)
2007  OF Austin Jackson (CHA/TAM/SWB) RHP Ian Kennedy (TAM/TRE/SWB)
2006  1B Cody Ehlers (TAM) RHP Phil Hughes (TRE)
2005  OF Kevin Thompson (COL/TRE) RHP Matt DeSalvo (TRE)
2004  1B Andy Phillips (COL/TRE) RHP Chien-Ming Wang (TRE/COL)
2003  C Dioner Navarro (TAM/TRE) RHP Jorge DePaula (COL)
2002  2B Andy Phillips (COL/NOR) LHP Danny Borrell (NOR/TAM)
RHP Jorge DePaula (NOR)
2001  OF Juan Rivera (COL/NOR)
OF Marcus Thames (NOR)
LHP Brandon Claussen (NOR/TAM)
2000  3B Scott Seabol (NOR) LHP Randy Keisler (COL)
1999  2B D'Angelo Jimenez (COL)
1B Nick Johnson (NOR)
LHP Ed Yarnall (COL)
1998  1B Nick Johnson (TAM) RHP Ryan Bradley (TAM/NOR/COL)
1997  3B Mike Lowell (COL/NOR) LHP Eric Milton (NOR/TAM)
1996  OF Ricky Ledee (COL/NOR) RHP Jay Tessmer (TAM)
1995  SS Derek Jeter (COL) RHP Matt Drews (TAM)
1994  SS Derek Jeter (TAM/ALB/COL) LHP Andy Pettitte (COL/ALB)
1993  OF Billy Masse (COL) LHP Ryan Karp (ALB/PRW/GBO)
1992  1B J.T. Snow (COL) RHP Sam Militello (COL)
1991  C Kiki Hernandez (GBO/PW)
SS Dave Silvestri (ALB)
RHP Ed Martel (ALB/COL)
RHP Sam Militello (PW/ALB)
1990  OF Hensley Meulens (COL) RHP Dave Eiland (COL)
1989  1B Hal Morris (COL) LHP Steve Adkins (FTL/ALB)
1988  1B Kevin Maas (PRW/ALB) RHP Todd Malone (Sarasota)
1987  OF Darren Reed (COL) RHP Dana Ridenour (FTL)
1986  3B Chris Alvarez (FTL) RHP Logan Easley (ALB)
1985  OF Dan Pasqua (COL) RHP Brad Arnsberg (ALB)
1984  C/OF Scott Bradley (COL) LHP Jim Deshaies (COL)
1983  OF Brian Dayett (COL) RHP Jose Rijo (FTL/Nashville)
1982  OF Matt Winters (GBO/Nashville) RHP Bob Tewksbury (FTL)
1981  1B Don Mattingly (COL) LHP Pete Filson (FTL/Nashville)
1980  1B Steve Balboni (Nashville) RHP Gene Nelson (FTL)