Lost in translation: Tomas hit on foot, not thumb

Miscommunication creates a little confusion

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. -- There appeared to be a little confusion in the first inning Monday when D-backs manager Chip Hale and a member of the training staff came out to check on Yasmany Tomas after he had been hit by a pitch from White Sox prospect Carlos Rodon in the first inning of the D-backs' 6-2 victory.

Hale said he clearly saw the ball hit Tomas on the right foot, but Hale wasn't sure the umpire had seen it, so while Tomas was in a crouched position outside the batter's box, Hale went out and asked home-plate umpire Kerwin Danley about it.

Danley told Hale that, yes, he had told Tomas he could go to first base. When Hale tried to relay that to Tomas, the slugger told him that he was injured.

So out came the trainer and translator Ariel Prieto.

According to Hale, when Prieto translated what Tomas was saying to the trainer, it came out that his "thumb" was numb.

"I'm like, 'How did he hurt his thumb?'" Hale said. "And then he's pointing to his foot. And what he meant was his big toe. So we were ragging Ariel that we needed an interpreter for the interpreter."

Tomas was not seriously injured and remained in the game.

Steve Gilbert is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Inside the D-backs, and follow him on Twitter @SteveGilbertMLB. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.