Umpires, official scorers announced for 2005 Midsummer Classic

All-Star Game umpires, scorers announced

Veteran Umpire Joe West will work behind the plate and serve as the Crew Chief at the 76th All-Star Game, to be played Tuesday, July 12 at Comerica Park in Detroit, it was announced today.

West, a Crew Chief in his 28th Major League season, worked the 1987 Midsummer Classic. Tim Welke (1B), Eric Cooper (2B), Mike DiMuro (3B), CB Bucknor (LF) and Andy Fletcher (RF) will join West.

Welke, a regular season Crew Chief in his 22nd year as a Major League Umpire, was a part of the crew at the 1990 All-Star Game at Wrigley Field. Welke is a native of Michigan. This marks the first All-Star assignments for Cooper, DiMuro, Bucknor and Fletcher. Bucknor and Cooper are both in their seventh year as Major League Umpires. DiMuro and Fletcher each have six years of Major League service.

In addition, Minor League Baseball Umpires Scot Chamberlain, Keith McConkey, Chris Tiller and D.J. Reyburn will partake in All-Star festivities, working the XM Satellite Radio All-Star Futures Game. Chamberlain (Southern League/Class AA) and Tiller (Texas/AA) will also work the Taco Bell All-Star Legends and Celebrity Softball Game, while McConkey (Eastern/AA) and Reyburn (Eastern) will be on the field for the CENTURY 21® Home Run Derby.

The official scorers of the 76th All-Star Game will be Chuck Klonke, a veteran scorer of Detroit Tigers games; Fort Worth Star Telegram writer T.R. Sullivan, President of the Baseball Writers Association of America; and Detroit News writer Tom Gage, Chairperson of the Detroit Chapter of the BBWAA.

The 76th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX Sports and around the world by Major League Baseball International, while ESPN Radio will provide exclusive national radio coverage. will provide extensive online coverage and MLB Radio will provide exclusive play-by-play coverage on the Internet.