Voting open for Royals Hall of Fame's Class of 2015

Voting open for Royals Hall of Fame's Class of 2015

Voting is open for the Royals Hall of Fame Class of 2015, with fans able to cast their online vote through Jan. 16.

This year's eligible players include right-hander Brian Bannister (2007-10), shortstop Angel Berroa (2001-07), outfielder Al Cowens (1974-79), right-hander Al Fitzmorris (1969-76), outfielder Bo Jackson (1986-90), right-hander Gil Meche (2007-10), catcher Darrell Porter (1977-80), third baseman Kevin Seitzer (1986-91), first baseman Mike Sweeney (1996-07) and catcher/outfielder/first baseman John Wathan (1976-85).

The fan vote accounts for four of the 40 overall votes, with all four assigned to the highest vote-getter, three votes for the second-highest and two for the third-highest. The rest of the voters include all living members of the Royals Hall of Fame and select members of the Royals Board of Directors, Kansas City Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America, Kansas City electronic media representatives and Royals front-office staff.

Candidates need 75 percent of the vote to be elected and at least 10 percent to be eligible for for the next voting cycle.

To be eligible for the Royals Hall of Fame, players must have been active with the club for at least three seasons with a minimum of 1,500 plate appearances or 300 innings pitched. They also must be non-active or retired from Major League Baseball for three calendar years.

Voting ends at noon CT on Jan. 16. For more information on the Royals Hall of Fame, fans may visit the club's Hall of Fame site.

Cash Kruth is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter at @cashkruth. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.