Baseball world gearing up for GIBBY Awards

Winners to be announced tonight at 9 ET on MLB Network,

Baseball world gearing up for GIBBY Awards

The 13th annual Greatness in Baseball Yearly (GIBBY) Awards will be announced exclusively on MLB Network and starting tonight at 9 ET, representing Major League Baseball's most comprehensive award-balloting process, based on three weeks of voting and encompassing the entire awards season from the MLB Opening Series in Australia through the Giants' Game 7 victory over the Royals in the World Series.

The show will be hosted by Greg Amsinger, former Major Leaguer Bill Ripken and former Major League general manager Jim Duquette. You can review the 25 categories on the ballot and watch nominees' highlights from the Must C reels now at

Votes came from local and national reporters and broadcasters, club front-office personnel, former players and Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) members, as well as fan balloting at and the 30 club sites through computers, smartphones and tablets.

Individual honors will go to the Most Valuable Major Leaguer, in addition to the year's best starting pitcher, everyday player, closer, setup man, rookie, breakout everyday player, breakout pitcher, bounceback player, defensive player, manager, executive and postseason MVP.

Finalists for the Most Valuable Major Leaguer award are Madison Bumgarner of the Giants, Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers and Mike Trout of the Angels.

Trout finished second to Detroit's Miguel Cabrera in each of the last two years, so it will be interesting to see whether the Angels' center fielder can get over the hump this time -- or whether a National League West ace will take the honor this time.

Bumgarner or Kershaw could become the first pitcher to win this honor since began honoring an overall top player -- hitter or pitcher -- in 2012. Kershaw won the Starting Pitcher of the Year GIBBY last year and Bumgarner finished sixth.

Each GIBBY award was voted on without league-affiliation restrictions to recognize the best in the game. Trophies also will be awarded to the top regular season play, outfield throw, storyline, hitting performance, pitching performance, oddity, walk-off, Cut4 topic, regular-season moment, postseason storyline, postseason walk-off and postseason play.

Derek Jeter appeared all over the ballot, so don't be surprised if he is handed a parting gift or two now that he has retired. In fact, the former Yankees captain was nominated three times alone in the Moment of the Year category: All-Star swan song, walk-off hit in his last Yankee Stadium at-bat, and Derek Jeter Day on Sept. 7.

The Manager of the Year trophy will go to Bruce Bochy of the Giants, Buck Showalter of the Orioles or Ned Yost of the Royals, while candidates for Defensive Player of the Year include Alex Gordon of the Royals, Juan Lagares of the Mets and Andrelton Simmons of the Braves.

The GIBBY tradition began in 2002 when there were six categories, and now that Torii Hunter is back with the Twins, it's worth noting that he led the way back then with two awards in the first year -- for Defensive Player and Play of the Year (robbing Barry Bonds in the All-Star Game). There are bound to be surprises this time, and fans are encouraged to use #GIBBYs to talk about it on social media.

Mark Newman is enterprise editor of Read and join other baseball fans on his community blog. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.