History: 2008 All-Star Game

All-Star Moment: Michael Young walks it off with sacrifice fly in 15th.

MVP J.D. Drew (BOS)
Derby Winner Justin Morneau (MIN)
Top Vote Getter Alex Rodriguez - 3,934,518
Stadium Yankee Stadium
AL Starter Cliff Lee
AL Manager Terry Francona
NL Starter Ben Sheets
NL Manager Clint Hurdle
Nine innings wouldn't be enough to decide a winner at the 2008 All-Star Game, but -- unlike six years earlier -- this one would not end in a tie. The two sides played the longest All-Star Game in terms of time (4 hours, 30 minutes) and matched the record set at the 1967 Midsummer Classic for the most innings played. The AL ultimately emerged victorious in 15 innings when Michael Young delivered a walk-off sacrifice fly.
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2021 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español