All-time winners

Rookie of the Year

Given to the top rookie-eligible players in both leagues, the Rookie of the Year Awards are voted voted upon by the Baseball Writers' Association of America prior to the beginning of the postseason and are based on a weighted points system. From 1947-48, it was given to the Majors' best overall rookie, but has been given to one player per league since 1949. On the 40th anniversary of the first award, the honor was named for Jackie Robinson, its first winner.

Year Player Team Position
2020 Devin Williams Milwaukee P
2019 Pete Alonso NY Mets 1B
2018 Ronald Acuna Jr. Atlanta CF
2017 Cody Bellinger LA Dodgers 1B
2016 Corey Seager LA Dodgers SS
2015 Kris Bryant Chi Cubs 3B
2014 Jacob deGrom NY Mets P
2013 Jose Fernandez Miami SP
2012 Bryce Harper Washington OF
2011 Craig Kimbrel Atlanta RP
2010 Buster Posey San Francisco C
2009 Chris Coghlan Florida OF
2008 Geovany Soto Chi Cubs C
2007 Ryan Braun Milwaukee 3B
2006 Hanley Ramirez Florida SS
2005 Ryan Howard Philadelphia 1B
2004 Jason Bay Pittsburgh OF
2003 Dontrelle Willis Florida SP
2002 Jason Jennings Colorado SP
2001 Albert Pujols St. Louis 3B
2000 Rafael Furcal Atlanta SS
1999 Scott Williamson Cincinnati RP
1998 Kerry Wood Chi Cubs SP
1997 Scott Rolen Philadelphia 3B
1996 Todd Hollandsworth Los Angeles OF
1995 Hideo Nomo Los Angeles SP
1994 Raul Mondesi Los Angeles OF
1993 Mike Piazza Los Angeles C
1992 Eric Karros Los Angeles 1B
1991 Jeff Bagwell Houston 1B
1990 David Justice Atlanta OF
1989 Jerome Walton Chi Cubs OF
1988 Chris Sabo Cincinnati 3B
1987 Benito Santiago San Diego C
1986 Todd Worrell St. Louis RP
1985 Vince Coleman St. Louis OF
1984 Dwight Gooden NY Mets SP
1983 Darryl Strawberry NY Mets OF
1982 Steve Sax Los Angeles 2B
1981 Fernando Valenzuela Los Angeles SP
1980 Steve Howe Los Angeles RP
1979 Rick Sutcliffe Los Angeles SP
1978 Bob Horner Atlanta 3B
1977 Andre Dawson Montreal OF
1976 Pat Zachry Cincinnati SP
1976 Butch Metzger San Diego RP
1975 John Montefusco San Francisco SP
1974 Bake McBride St. Louis OF
1973 Gary Matthews San Francisco OF
1972 Jon Matlack NY Mets SP
1971 Earl Williams Atlanta C
1970 Carl Morton Montreal SP
1969 Ted Sizemore Los Angeles 2B
1968 Johnny Bench Cincinnati C
1967 Tom Seaver NY Mets SP
1966 Tommy Helms Cincinnati 2B
1965 Jim Lefebvre LA Dodgers 2B
1964 Dick Allen Philadelphia 3B
1963 Pete Rose Cincinnati 2B
1962 Ken Hubbs Chi Cubs 2B
1961 Billy Williams Chi Cubs OF
1960 Frank Howard Los Angeles OF
1959 Willie McCovey San Francisco 1B
1958 Orlando Cepeda San Francisco 1B
1957 Jack Sanford Philadelphia SP
1956 Frank Robinson Cincinnati OF
1955 Bill Virdon St. Louis OF
1954 Wally Moon St. Louis OF
1953 Jim Gilliam Brooklyn 2B
1952 Joe Black Brooklyn RP
1951 Willie Mays NY Giants OF
1950 Sam Jethroe Bsn. Braves OF
1949 Don Newcombe Brooklyn SP
1948 Alvin Dark * Bsn. Braves SS
1947 Jackie Robinson * Brooklyn 1B

(*) One award for both leagues.