All-time winners

Most Valuable Player

Since 1931, the Baseball Writers' Association of America has voted for the Most Valuable Player in each league. Ballots are submitted prior to the beginning of the postseason and are based on a weighted points system.

Year Player Team Position
2019 Cody Bellinger LA Dodgers RF
2018 Christian Yelich Milwaukee OF
2017 Giancarlo Stanton Miami RF
2016 Kris Bryant Chi Cubs 3B
2015 Bryce Harper Washington RF
2014 Clayton Kershaw LA Dodgers SP
2013 Andrew McCutchen Pittsburgh OF
2012 Buster Posey San Francisco C
2011 Ryan Braun Milwaukee OF
2010 Joey Votto Cincinnati 1B
2009 Albert Pujols St. Louis 1B
2008 Albert Pujols St. Louis 1B
2007 Jimmy Rollins Philadelphia SS
2006 Ryan Howard Philadelphia 1B
2005 Albert Pujols St. Louis 1B
2004 Barry Bonds San Francisco OF
2003 Barry Bonds San Francisco OF
2002 Barry Bonds San Francisco OF
2001 Barry Bonds San Francisco OF
2000 Jeff Kent San Francisco 2B
1999 Chipper Jones Atlanta 3B
1998 Sammy Sosa Chi Cubs OF
1997 Larry Walker Colorado OF
1996 Ken Caminiti San Diego 3B
1995 Barry Larkin Cincinnati SS
1994 Jeff Bagwell Houston 1B
1993 Barry Bonds San Francisco OF
1992 Barry Bonds Pittsburgh OF
1991 Terry Pendleton Atlanta 3B
1990 Barry Bonds Pittsburgh OF
1989 Kevin Mitchell San Francisco OF
1988 Kirk Gibson Los Angeles OF
1987 Andre Dawson Chi Cubs OF
1986 Mike Schmidt Philadelphia 3B
1985 Willie McGee St. Louis OF
1984 Ryne Sandberg Chi Cubs 2B
1983 Dale Murphy Atlanta OF
1982 Dale Murphy Atlanta OF
1981 Mike Schmidt Philadelphia 3B
1980 Mike Schmidt Philadelphia 3B
1979 Keith Hernandez St. Louis 1B
1979 Willie Stargell Pittsburgh 1B
1978 Dave Parker Pittsburgh OF
1977 George Foster Cincinnati OF
1976 Joe Morgan Cincinnati 2B
1975 Joe Morgan Cincinnati 2B
1974 Steve Garvey Los Angeles 1B
1973 Pete Rose Cincinnati OF
1972 Johnny Bench Cincinnati C
1971 Joe Torre St. Louis 3B
1970 Johnny Bench Cincinnati C
1969 Willie McCovey San Francisco 1B
1968 Bob Gibson St. Louis SP
1967 Orlando Cepeda St. Louis 1B
1966 Roberto Clemente Pittsburgh OF
1965 Willie Mays San Francisco OF
1964 Ken Boyer St. Louis 3B
1963 Sandy Koufax LA Dodgers SP
1962 Maury Wills LA Dodgers SS
1961 Frank Robinson Cincinnati OF
1960 Dick Groat Pittsburgh SS
1959 Ernie Banks Chi Cubs SS
1958 Ernie Banks Chi Cubs SS
1957 Hank Aaron Milwaukee OF
1956 Don Newcombe Brooklyn SP
1955 Roy Campanella Brooklyn C
1954 Willie Mays NY Giants OF
1953 Roy Campanella Brooklyn C
1952 Hank Sauer Chi Cubs OF
1951 Roy Campanella Brooklyn C
1950 Jim Konstanty Philadelphia RP
1949 Jackie Robinson Brooklyn 2B
1948 Stan Musial St. Louis OF
1947 Bob Elliott Bsn. Braves 3B
1946 Stan Musial St. Louis 1B
1945 Phil Cavarretta Chi Cubs 1B
1944 Marty Marion St. Louis SS
1943 Stan Musial St. Louis OF
1942 Mort Cooper St. Louis SP
1941 Dolph Camilli Brooklyn 1B
1940 Frank McCormick Cincinnati 1B
1939 Bucky Walters Cincinnati SP
1938 Ernie Lombardi Cincinnati C
1937 Joe Medwick St. Louis OF
1936 Carl Hubbell NY Giants SP
1935 Gabby Hartnett Chi Cubs C
1934 Dizzy Dean St. Louis SP
1933 Carl Hubbell NY Giants SP
1932 Chuck Klein Philadelphia OF
1931 Frankie Frisch St. Louis 2B