All-time winners

Manager of the Year

Since 1983, the the Baseball Writers' Association of America have voted for the top managers in each league. Ballots are submitted prior to the beginning of the postseason and are based on a weighted points system.

Year Player Team
2020 Don Mattingly Miami
2019 Mike Shildt St. Louis
2018 Brian Snitker Atlanta
2017 Torey Lovullo Arizona
2016 Dave Roberts LA Dodgers
2015 Joe Maddon Chi Cubs
2014 Matt Williams Washington
2013 Clint Hurdle Pittsburgh
2012 Davey Johnson Washington
2011 Kirk Gibson Arizona
2010 Bud Black San Diego
2009 Jim Tracy Colorado
2008 Lou Piniella Chi Cubs
2007 Bob Melvin Arizona
2006 Joe Girardi Florida
2005 Bobby Cox Atlanta
2004 Bobby Cox Atlanta
2003 Jack McKeon Florida
2002 Tony La Russa St. Louis
2001 Larry Bowa Philadelphia
2000 Dusty Baker Jr. San Francisco
1999 Jack McKeon Cincinnati
1998 Larry Dierker Houston
1997 Dusty Baker Jr. San Francisco
1996 Bruce Bochy San Diego
1995 Don Baylor Colorado
1994 Felipe Alou Montreal
1993 Dusty Baker Jr. San Francisco
1992 Jim Leyland Pittsburgh
1991 Bobby Cox Atlanta
1990 Jim Leyland Pittsburgh
1989 Don Zimmer Chi Cubs
1988 Tommy Lasorda Los Angeles
1987 Buck Rodgers Montreal
1986 Hal Lanier Houston
1985 Whitey Herzog St. Louis
1984 Jim Frey Chi Cubs
1983 Tommy Lasorda Los Angeles