All-time winners

Cy Young

Named for the winningest pitcher in baseball history, the Cy Young Award is voted upon by the Baseball Writers' Association of America prior to the beginning of the postseason. From 1956 to 1966, the award was given to one pitcher, but has been given to one pitcher per league since 1967. The vote totals are based on a weighted points system.

Year Player Team Position
2020 Trevor Bauer Cincinnati SP
2019 Jacob deGrom NY Mets SP
2018 Jacob deGrom NY Mets SP
2017 Max Scherzer Washington SP
2016 Max Scherzer Washington SP
2015 Jake Arrieta Chi Cubs SP
2014 Clayton Kershaw LA Dodgers SP
2013 Clayton Kershaw LA Dodgers SP
2012 R.A. Dickey NY Mets SP
2011 Clayton Kershaw LA Dodgers SP
2010 Roy Halladay Philadelphia SP
2009 Tim Lincecum San Francisco SP
2008 Tim Lincecum San Francisco SP
2007 Jake Peavy San Diego SP
2006 Brandon Webb Arizona SP
2005 Chris Carpenter St. Louis SP
2004 Roger Clemens Houston SP
2003 Eric Gagne Los Angeles RP
2002 Randy Johnson Arizona SP
2001 Randy Johnson Arizona SP
2000 Randy Johnson Arizona SP
1999 Randy Johnson Arizona SP
1998 Tom Glavine Atlanta SP
1997 Pedro Martinez Montreal SP
1996 John Smoltz Atlanta SP
1995 Greg Maddux Atlanta SP
1994 Greg Maddux Atlanta SP
1993 Greg Maddux Atlanta SP
1992 Greg Maddux Chi Cubs SP
1991 Tom Glavine Atlanta SP
1990 Doug Drabek Pittsburgh SP
1989 Mark Davis San Diego RP
1988 Orel Hershiser Los Angeles SP
1987 Steve Bedrosian Philadelphia RP
1986 Mike Scott Houston SP
1985 Dwight Gooden NY Mets SP
1984 Rick Sutcliffe Chi Cubs SP
1983 John Denny Philadelphia SP
1982 Steve Carlton Philadelphia SP
1981 Fernando Valenzuela Los Angeles SP
1980 Steve Carlton Philadelphia SP
1979 Bruce Sutter Chi Cubs RP
1978 Gaylord Perry San Diego SP
1977 Steve Carlton Philadelphia SP
1976 Randy Jones San Diego SP
1975 Tom Seaver NY Mets SP
1974 Mike Marshall Los Angeles RP
1973 Tom Seaver NY Mets SP
1972 Steve Carlton Philadelphia SP
1971 Fergie Jenkins Chi Cubs SP
1970 Bob Gibson St. Louis SP
1969 Tom Seaver NY Mets SP
1968 Bob Gibson St. Louis SP
1967 Mike McCormick San Francisco SP
1966 Sandy Koufax * Los Angeles SP
1965 Sandy Koufax * LA Dodgers SP
1964 Dean Chance * LA Angels SP
1963 Sandy Koufax * LA Dodgers SP
1962 Don Drysdale * LA Dodgers SP
1961 Whitey Ford * NY Yankees SP
1960 Vern Law * Pittsburgh SP
1959 Early Wynn * Chi White Sox SP
1958 Bob Turley * NY Yankees SP
1957 Warren Spahn * Milwaukee SP
1956 Don Newcombe * Brooklyn SP

(*) One award for both leagues.