All-time winners

Comeback Player of the Year

The Comeback Player of the Year Awards are presented annually to one player in each league who has re-emerged on the field during the season. The 30 club beat reporters from selected the winners from an original list of 30 candidates (one per MLB club). The award debuted in 2005.

Year Player Team Position
2018 Jonny Venters Atlanta RP
2017 Greg Holland Colorado P
2016 Anthony Rendon Washington 3B
2015 Matt Harvey NY Mets P
2014 Casey McGehee Miami 3B
2013 Francisco Liriano Pittsburgh P
2012 Buster Posey San Francisco C
2011 Lance Berkman St. Louis OF
2010 Tim Hudson Atlanta P
2009 Chris Carpenter St. Louis P
2008 Brad Lidge Philadelphia P
2007 Dmitri Young Washington 1B
2006 Nomar Garciaparra LA Dodgers 1B
2005 Ken Griffey Jr. Cincinnati OF