All-time winners

Rookie of the Year

Given to the top rookie-eligible players in both leagues, the Rookie of the Year Awards are voted voted upon by the Baseball Writers' Association of America prior to the beginning of the postseason and are based on a weighted points system. From 1947-48, it was given to the Majors' best overall rookie, but has been given to one player per league since 1949. On the 40th anniversary of the first award, the honor was named for Jackie Robinson, its first winner.

Year Player Team Position
2020 Kyle Lewis Seattle CF
2019 Yordan Alvarez Houston OF
2018 Shohei Ohtani LA Angels DH
2017 Aaron Judge NY Yankees RF
2016 Michael Fulmer Detroit SP
2015 Carlos Correa Houston SS
2014 Jose Abreu Chi White Sox 1B
2013 Wil Myers Tampa Bay OF
2012 Mike Trout LA Angels OF
2011 Jeremy Hellickson Tampa Bay SP
2010 Neftali Feliz Texas RP
2009 Andrew Bailey Oakland RP
2008 Evan Longoria Tampa Bay 3B
2007 Dustin Pedroia Boston 2B
2006 Justin Verlander Detroit OF
2005 Huston Street Oakland RP
2004 Bobby Crosby Oakland SS
2003 Angel Berroa Kansas City SS
2002 Eric Hinske Toronto 3B
2001 Ichiro Suzuki Seattle OF
2000 Kazuhiro Sasaki Seattle RP
1999 Carlos Beltran Kansas City OF
1998 Ben Grieve Oakland OF
1997 Nomar Garciaparra Boston SS
1996 Derek Jeter NY Yankees SS
1995 Marty Cordova Minnesota OF
1994 Bob Hamelin Kansas City DH
1993 Tim Salmon California OF
1992 Pat Listach Milwaukee SS
1991 Chuck Knoblauch Minnesota 2B
1990 Sandy Alomar Jr. Cleveland C
1989 Gregg Olson Baltimore RP
1988 Walt Weiss Oakland SS
1987 Mark McGwire Oakland 1B
1986 Jose Canseco Oakland OF
1985 Ozzie Guillen Chi White Sox SS
1984 Alvin Davis Seattle 1B
1983 Ron Kittle Chi White Sox OF
1982 Cal Ripken Jr. Baltimore SS
1981 Dave Righetti NY Yankees SP
1980 Joe Charboneau Cleveland OF
1979 John Castino Minnesota 2B
1979 Alfredo Griffin Toronto SS
1978 Lou Whitaker Detroit 2B
1977 Eddie Murray Baltimore 1B
1976 Mark Fidrych Detroit SP
1975 Fred Lynn Boston OF
1974 Mike Hargrove Texas 1B
1973 Al Bumbry Baltimore OF
1972 Carlton Fisk Boston C
1971 Chris Chambliss Cleveland 1B
1970 Thurman Munson NY Yankees C
1969 Lou Piniella Kansas City OF
1968 Stan Bahnsen NY Yankees SP
1967 Rod Carew Minnesota 2B
1966 Tommie Agee Chi White Sox OF
1965 Curt Blefary Baltimore OF
1964 Tony Oliva Minnesota OF
1963 Gary Peters Chi White Sox SP
1962 Tom Tresh NY Yankees OF
1961 Don Schwall Boston SP
1960 Ron Hansen Baltimore SS
1959 Bob Allison Washington OF
1958 Albie Pearson Washington OF
1957 Tony Kubek NY Yankees SS
1956 Luis Aparicio Chi White Sox SS
1955 Herb Score Cleveland SP
1954 Bob Grim NY Yankees SP
1953 Harvey Kuenn Detroit 2B
1952 Harry Byrd Phi. Athletics SP
1951 Gil McDougald NY Yankees 3B
1950 Walt Dropo Boston 1B
1949 Roy Sievers StL Browns OF
1948 Alvin Dark * Bsn. Braves SS
1947 Jackie Robinson * Brooklyn 1B

(*) One award for both leagues.