All-time winners

Manager of the Year

Since 1983, the the Baseball Writers' Association of America have voted for the top managers in each league. Ballots are submitted prior to the beginning of the postseason and are based on a weighted points system.

Year Player Team
2020 Kevin Cash Tampa Bay
2019 Rocco Baldelli Minnesota
2018 Bob Melvin Oakland
2017 Paul Molitor Minnesota
2016 Terry Francona Cleveland
2015 Jeff Banister Texas
2014 Buck Showalter Baltimore
2013 Terry Francona Cleveland
2012 Bob Melvin Oakland
2011 Joe Maddon Tampa Bay
2010 Ron Gardenhire Minnesota
2009 Mike Scioscia LA Angels
2008 Joe Maddon Tampa Bay
2007 Eric Wedge Cleveland
2006 Jim Leyland Detroit
2005 Ozzie Guillen Chi White Sox
2004 Buck Showalter Texas
2003 Tony Pena Kansas City
2002 Mike Scioscia Anaheim
2001 Lou Piniella Seattle
2000 Jerry Manuel Chi White Sox
1999 Jimy Williams Boston
1998 Joe Torre NY Yankees
1997 Davey Johnson Baltimore
1996 Joe Torre NY Yankees
1996 Johnny Oates Texas
1995 Lou Piniella Seattle
1994 Buck Showalter NY Yankees
1993 Gene Lamont Chi White Sox
1992 Tony La Russa Oakland
1991 Tom Kelly Minnesota
1990 Jeff Torborg Chi White Sox
1989 Frank Robinson Baltimore
1988 Tony La Russa Oakland
1987 Sparky Anderson Detroit
1986 John McNamara Boston
1985 Bobby Cox Toronto
1984 Sparky Anderson Detroit
1983 Tony La Russa Chi White Sox