All-time winners

Cy Young

Named for the winningest pitcher in baseball history, the Cy Young Award is voted upon by the Baseball Writers' Association of America prior to the beginning of the postseason. From 1956 to 1966, the award was given to one pitcher, but has been given to one pitcher per league since 1967. The vote totals are based on a weighted points system.

Year Player Team Position
2020 Shane Bieber Cleveland SP
2019 Justin Verlander Houston SP
2018 Blake Snell Tampa Bay SP
2017 Corey Kluber Cleveland SP
2016 Rick Porcello Boston SP
2015 Dallas Keuchel Houston SP
2014 Corey Kluber Cleveland SP
2013 Max Scherzer Detroit SP
2012 David Price Tampa Bay SP
2011 Justin Verlander Detroit SP
2010 Felix Hernandez Seattle SP
2009 Zack Greinke Kansas City SP
2008 Cliff Lee Cleveland SP
2007 CC Sabathia Cleveland SP
2006 Johan Santana Minnesota SP
2005 Bartolo Colon LA Angels SP
2004 Johan Santana Minnesota SP
2003 Roy Halladay Toronto SP
2002 Barry Zito Oakland SP
2001 Roger Clemens NY Yankees SP
2000 Pedro Martinez Boston SP
1999 Pedro Martinez Boston SP
1998 Roger Clemens Toronto SP
1997 Roger Clemens Toronto SP
1996 Pat Hentgen Toronto SP
1995 Randy Johnson Seattle SP
1994 David Cone Kansas City SP
1993 Jack McDowell Chi White Sox SP
1992 Dennis Eckersley Oakland RP
1991 Roger Clemens Boston SP
1990 Bob Welch Oakland SP
1989 Bret Saberhagen Kansas City SP
1988 Frank Viola Minnesota SP
1987 Roger Clemens Boston SP
1986 Roger Clemens Boston SP
1985 Bret Saberhagen Kansas City SP
1984 Willie Hernandez Detroit RP
1983 LaMarr Hoyt Chi White Sox SP
1982 Pete Vuckovich Milwaukee SP
1981 Rollie Fingers Milwaukee RP
1980 Steve Stone Baltimore SP
1979 Mike Flanagan Baltimore SP
1978 Ron Guidry NY Yankees SP
1977 Sparky Lyle NY Yankees RP
1976 Jim Palmer Baltimore SP
1975 Jim Palmer Baltimore SP
1974 Catfish Hunter Oakland SP
1973 Jim Palmer Baltimore SP
1972 Gaylord Perry Cleveland SP
1971 Vida Blue Oakland SP
1970 Jim Perry Minnesota SP
1969 Denny McLain Detroit SP
1969 Mike Cuellar Baltimore SP
1968 Denny McLain Detroit SP
1967 Jim Lonborg Boston SP
1966 Sandy Koufax * Los Angeles SP
1965 Sandy Koufax * LA Dodgers SP
1964 Dean Chance * LA Angels SP
1963 Sandy Koufax * LA Dodgers SP
1962 Don Drysdale * LA Dodgers SP
1961 Whitey Ford * NY Yankees SP
1960 Vern Law * Pittsburgh SP
1959 Early Wynn * Chi White Sox SP
1958 Bob Turley * NY Yankees SP
1957 Warren Spahn * Milwaukee SP
1956 Don Newcombe * Brooklyn SP

(*) One award for both leagues.