All-time winners

Most Valuable Player

Since 1931, the Baseball Writers' Association of America has voted for the Most Valuable Player in each league. Ballots are submitted prior to the beginning of the postseason and are based on a weighted points system.

Year Player Team Position
2014 Mike Trout LA Angels CF
2013 Miguel Cabrera Detroit 3B
2012 Miguel Cabrera Detroit 3B
2011 Justin Verlander Detroit SP
2010 Josh Hamilton Texas OF
2009 Joe Mauer Minnesota C
2008 Dustin Pedroia Boston 2B
2007 Alex Rodriguez NY Yankees 3B
2006 Justin Morneau Minnesota 1B
2005 Alex Rodriguez NY Yankees 3B
2004 Vladimir Guerrero Anaheim OF
2003 Alex Rodriguez Texas SS
2002 Miguel Tejada Oakland SS
2001 Ichiro Suzuki Seattle OF
2000 Jason Giambi Oakland 1B
1999 Ivan Rodriguez Texas C
1998 Juan Gonzalez Texas OF
1997 Ken Griffey Jr. Seattle OF
1996 Juan Gonzalez Texas OF
1995 Mo Vaughn Boston 1B
1994 Frank Thomas Chi White Sox 1B
1993 Frank Thomas Chi White Sox 1B
1992 Dennis Eckersley Oakland RP
1991 Cal Ripken Baltimore SS
1990 Rickey Henderson Oakland OF
1989 Robin Yount Milwaukee OF
1988 Jose Canseco Oakland OF
1987 George Bell Toronto OF
1986 Roger Clemens Boston SP
1985 Don Mattingly NY Yankees 1B
1984 Willie Hernandez Detroit RP
1983 Cal Ripken Baltimore SS
1982 Robin Yount Milwaukee SS
1981 Rollie Fingers Milwaukee RP
1980 George Brett Kansas City 3B
1979 Don Baylor California OF
1978 Jim Rice Boston OF
1977 Rod Carew Minnesota 1B
1976 Thurman Munson NY Yankees C
1975 Fred Lynn Boston OF
1974 Jeff Burroughs Texas OF
1973 Reggie Jackson Oakland OF
1972 Dick Allen Chi White Sox 1B
1971 Vida Blue Oakland SP
1970 Boog Powell Baltimore 1B
1969 Harmon Killebrew Minnesota 3B
1968 Denny McLain Detroit SP
1967 Carl Yastrzemski Boston OF
1966 Frank Robinson Baltimore OF
1965 Zoilo Versalles Minnesota SS
1964 Brooks Robinson Baltimore 3B
1963 Elston Howard NY Yankees C
1962 Mickey Mantle NY Yankees OF
1961 Roger Maris NY Yankees OF
1960 Roger Maris NY Yankees OF
1959 Nellie Fox Chi White Sox 2B
1958 Jackie Jensen Boston OF
1957 Mickey Mantle NY Yankees OF
1956 Mickey Mantle NY Yankees OF
1955 Yogi Berra NY Yankees C
1954 Yogi Berra NY Yankees C
1953 Al Rosen Cleveland 3B
1952 Bobby Shantz Philadelphia SP
1951 Yogi Berra NY Yankees C
1950 Phil Rizzuto NY Yankees SS
1949 Ted Williams Boston OF
1948 Lou Boudreau Cleveland SS
1947 Joe DiMaggio NY Yankees OF
1946 Ted Williams Boston OF
1945 Hal Newhouser Detroit SP
1944 Hal Newhouser Detroit SP
1943 Spud Chandler NY Yankees SP
1942 Joe Gordon NY Yankees 2B
1941 Joe DiMaggio NY Yankees OF
1940 Hank Greenberg Detroit OF
1939 Joe DiMaggio NY Yankees OF
1938 Jimmie Foxx Boston 1B
1937 Charlie Gehringer Detroit 2B
1936 Lou Gehrig NY Yankees 1B
1935 Hank Greenberg Detroit 1B
1934 Mickey Cochrane Detroit C
1933 Jimmie Foxx Philadelphia 1B
1932 Jimmie Foxx Philadelphia 1B
1931 Lefty Grove Philadelphia SP